Screen Sharing Fraud Alert: Your bank account could be wiped out by sharing your screen on a video call. Learn easy ways to avoid it

While online banking and digital payments are easy, they also often become a convenient avenue for cybercriminals. These days, fraudsters call people and lure them with promises of bank account blocking, KYC updates, or cashback. They then trick them into downloading third-party screen-sharing apps like AnyDesk, TeamViewer, or QuickSupport.

How does the screen sharing scam work?

Fake calls or messages: Fraudsters call posing as bank managers or customer care executives and create fear that your account is about to be closed.

Getting you to download apps: They ask you to download screen sharing apps from Google Play Store or a fake link.

Stealing codes or PINs: Once you share your screen by granting app permissions, scammers can see every activity on your phone. As soon as you enter your UPI PIN or net banking password, they take note of it and transfer money from your account.

5 essential safety tips to stay safe

Never share your screen: Banks, the Income Tax Department, or any other official organization will never ask you to share your screen or provide an OTP over a phone call. Don't share your screen with strangers.

Beware of third-party apps: Never download AnyDesk, TeamViewer, Zoom, or any other unknown remote access app on your phone at someone's behest.

Keep OTP and PIN secret: Do not share your UPI PIN, ATM card PIN, CVV or OTP with anyone.

Turn off the internet immediately: If you ever suspect that you have accidentally downloaded a fake app, immediately turn off your phone's internet (Wi-Fi and Mobile Data) and delete that app.

File a complaint on the cyber helpline : If you become a victim of such fraud, immediately lodge a complaint on the national cybercrime portal cybercrime.gov.in or call 1930.

PC: Business standred